Last name conundrum

How do you say “Chui”? To be honest, I’ve given up long time ago because in reality translating phonetics from one language to another just doesn’t quite work. Often chewy wins, so I’ve taken it and accepted it as my name.

Buying our bus tickets from Kisumu to Nairobi, the salesman looked up at me as he read my name.

“You are a leopard!”

“Pardon me?” I said in confusion.

“Chewy means a leopard in Swahili.”

What! If only I had known for the past 20 years of my life, I could have saved myself all this self consciousness!

Well fam jam, next time someone tries to make fun of your last name you know what to tell them!

Leave a Reply

