Portraits from Guatemala

Portraits from Guatemala

The little girl in a pink “so loved” shirt started crying when we were buying vegetables from her mother. I crouched down trying to comfort her.

“It’s okay. Don’t cry.”

What I say doesn’t matter; she wouldn’t understand. She spoke Spanish and I spoke English. I hoped that at least my tone would provide some sort of reassurance that we weren’t scary monsters. Instead she stared blankly at my camera.  So I held it up.

“Would you like a photo?”

She seemed confused, but I took a shot anyways. She smiled then held the camera and proceeded to laugh  when she saw herself. I couldn’t help but feel warm and fuzzy inside.

Leave a Reply

